Short Track Speed Skating World Championships
Nine Canadian skaters have a perfect day in qualifying on first day of Montreal’s ISU World Cup Short Track


Sasha (Alexander) Fathoullin reacted like a veteran although he was skating in his first-ever career World Cup, Friday, as he qualified for the final rounds in both his races on the first day of the first stage of the 2015-2016 ISU World Cup Short Track Speed Skating season, which is taking place at Montreal’s Maurice Richard Arena until Sunday.

More details >

The best short track skaters in the world to kick off the new season in Montreal, October 30 to November 1st

Desjardins Group: corporate partner

Montreal, October 28, 2015 – The need for speed will be back in Montreal this fall, as the best short track speed skaters in the world will meet at Montreal’s Maurice-Richard Arena from October 30 to November 1st to take part in the first stage of the 2015-2016 ISU World Cup season.

Overall, a total of 146 athletes from 22 countries, i.e. 64 women and 82 men, will vye for medals in the 500m, the 1500m, the relay and two 1000m races slated during the weekend.

In addition to the Canadian team, which will include Olympic medalists Charles Hamelin, Marianne St-Gelais, Valérie Maltais, Charle Cournoyer and François Hamelin, fans of speed events will be able to see nine of the top 10 women in last season’s World Championship overall standings, as well as eight of the top 10 men.

Several of speed skating’s marquee athletes will be on hand, including 2015 world champions Minjeong Choi of South Korea and Sjinkie Knegt of the Netherlands, as well as Olympic medalists Suk Hee Shim et Kim Alang of South Korea, in addition to China’s Kexin Fan, Jingnan Shi, Tianyu Han and Dajing Wu, who are all sure to provide exciting moments on the ice.

Admission is free for the qualification rounds, which will take place on Friday, October 30, from 9:45 am to 5:45 pm.

Tickets and the complete schedule for the races slated as of 1 pm on Saturday, October 31 and Sunday, November 1st, are available at

“Once again this year, Montreal is proud to welcome the top speed skaters in the world as well as the Canadian stars and Olympic medalists for an entertaining weekend which will please fans of speed events and great thrills,” said Claude Fauteux, President of the organizing committee.

“For Montreal, this will also be an opportunity to show once again to the world the great work that our organizing committee can do, as it did at the 2014 World Championships and at the numerous World Cups held in Montreal so far, and as it will again in 2018, a few weeks after the Olympic Games, for the presentation of the 2018 World Championships.”

Desjardins: corporate partner
The President of the organizing committee also took the opportunity to thank the event’s numerous partners and sponsors, especially Desjardins Group, which made a $25,000 contribution to present this event in 2015.

“It gives Desjardins great pleasure to present the Short Track Speed Skating World Cup, thus helping to highlight physical activity as well as showcasing Montreal and its warm welcome to the rest of the world. As a cooperative with strong roots in its community, Desjardins believes it is important to contribute to the well-being of our members and to the collectivity’s development”, noted Mr. Martin Brunelle, Managing Vice-President, Greater Montreal Administrative Division at Desjardins Group.


The event also joined forces with two philanthropic partners this year, i.e. the Heart & Stroke Foundation as well as Children’s Wish Foundation. These two organizations helped to promote the event and will be present on Saturday, October 31 and November 1st, respectively, to receive donations.


Mr. Fauteux also thanked several government partners, including the Government of Canada, Gouvernment du Québec, Ville de Montréal and Tourism Montréal.


“Tourism Montréal sees the sports sector as having real potential as a great tool to foster the development of tourism in Montreal, and that is why we strategically allocate resources in order to obtain concrete results. Montreal is a great sports city and it has all the assets to welcome various types of sporting events: modern facilities, competent coaches and high-level athletes. We are therefore happy to host the season’s first ISU World Cup in our city. Good luck to the athletes,” said Yves Lalumière, CEO at Tourism Montréal.

Saturday, October 31: trick or treat with Charles Hamelin and Marianne St-Gelais
At the end of the competition program on Saturday, October 31, Halloween Day, members of the Canadian team will meet with fans for an autograph session.

In addition, during the session, Charles Hamelin and Marianne St-Gelais will give out candy to the first 250 people, first and foremost to kids and to people wearing a costume.

The organizing committee is therefore inviting everyone to dress up on Saturday, October 31 – Halloween Day.

Broadcast on CBC and Radio-Canada
The 1000m and 1500 finals, both on the women’s and men’s side, will be broadcast on CBC and its web site at, the official broadcaster of the event, on Saturday, October 31 from 5 pm to 6 pm (Eastern Time).

The following day, CBC will broadcast the men’s and women’s 500m and 1000m finals from 3 pm to 4 pm.

French-speaking fans can also follow the competition, as races will be webcast on the website from 1 pm to 5 pm on both Saturday and Sunday.

About the 2015 ISU Short Track Speed Skating World Cup in Montreal
The 2015 ISU Short Track Speed Skating World Cup in Montreal, set to take place from October 30 to November 1st at Maurice-Richard Arena, will feature the best short track speed skaters in the world as part of the first stage of the 2015-2016 season. There will be six World Cups stages overall around the world.


The organizing committee for the 2015 ISU Short Track Speed Skating World Cup in Montreal would like to thank its partners and sponsors:


Corporate partners: Desjardins, Hôtel Universel and Li-Ning

Government partners: Government of Canada, Gouvernement du Québec, Ville de Montréal, Tourisme Montréal and Olympic Park

Sports partners: ISU, Fédération de patinage de vitesse du Québec and Speed Skating Canada

Philanthropic partners: Heart & Stroke Foundation and Children’s Wish Foundation

Media partners: 91.9 Sport radio station and 24 Heures newspaper


More details are available at the event’s web site at

– 30 –

For information:

Patrick Godbout

Communications & Media Relations Manager

Speed Skating Canada


Phone: 514 213-9897




The Canadian team aims for 10 individual medals at this season’s first ISU World Cup Short Track Speed Skating in Montreal


Members of the Canadian Short Track Speed Skating Team have made it their mission to win 10 individual medals at the inaugaural stage of the 2015-2016 World Cup season, which is set to take place at home, at Montreal’s Maurice-Richard Arena, October 30 to November 1st.

More details >

Come and meet the Canadian National Team members


Members of the Canadian national short track speed skating team are inviting the general public to attend a press conference and take part in an autograph session set to take place on Wednesday, October 28 from 11:30 am to 1 pm at the Grande-Place at complexe Desjardins (150 Ste. Catherine St. West), partner of this event.

More details >

Five Olympic medalists to lead Team Canada for the ISU World Cups Short Track in Montreal and Toronto

Speed Skating Canada announced the athletes who will represent the country at the first two ISU World Cup Short Track events of the 2015-2016 season, to be held in Montreal, October 30-November 1, and Toronto, November 6-8.

Meet the athletes >

Tickets now available


Get your tickets now for the World Cup to be held at the Maurice-Richard Arena, October 30-November 1.

Get your tickets now >



In two months, Montreal will host the first Short Track World Cup of the season, October 30-November 1, at the Maurice-Richard Arena in Montreal.

Be in the action by being a volunteer for the event!

Register now >

The Maurice-Richard Arena in Montreal to host the first ISU Short Track World Cup of the season, October 30-November 1


Montreal will open the short track season by presenting the first World Cup, October 30-November 1st at the Maurice-Richard Arena.

More details >

Championnat du monde ISU Montréal
Neuf patineurs canadiens connaissent une journée parfaite en qualifications au premier jour de la Coupe du monde sur courte piste de l’ISU à Montréal

fathoullin

Sasha (Alexander) Fathoullin a réagi comme un vétéran même s’il en était à sa première Coupe du monde en carrière, vendredi, alors qu’il s’est qualifié pour les rondes finales de ses deux courses à l’occasion de la première des trois journées de la première étape de la saison 2015-2016 de la Coupe du monde de patinage de vitesse sur courte piste de l’ISU, disputée à l’aréna Maurice-Richard à Montréal.

Plus de détails >


Les meilleurs patineurs de vitesse sur courte piste au monde débutent leur nouvelle saison à Montréal du 30 octobre au 1er novembre

Le Mouvement Desjardins : partenaire de l’événement

Montréal, le 28 octobre 2015 – Le monde de la vitesse est de retour à Montréal cet automne alors que les meilleurs patineurs de vitesse sur courte piste au monde se donneront rendez-vous à l’aréna Maurice-Richard de Montréal du 30 octobre au 1er novembre pour la première Coupe du monde de l’ISU de la saison 2015-2016.

En tout, un total de 146 athlètes provenant de 22 pays, soit 64 femmes et 82 hommes, se disputeront les honneurs des épreuves du 500m, du 1500m, du relais et des deux épreuves de 1000m au programme de cette fin de semaine.

Outre l’équipe canadienne notamment composée des médaillés olympiques Charles Hamelin, Marianne St-Gelais, Valérie Maltais, Charle Cournoyer et François Hamelin, les amateurs de vitesse pourront voir à l’œuvre neuf des dix premières femmes au classement général des Championnats du monde 2015, ainsi que huit des dix premiers du côté masculin.

Parmi les têtes d’affiche en action, on retrouvera les champions du monde 2015 Minjeong Choi de la Corée du Sud et Sjinkie Knegt des Pays-Bas, ainsi que les médaillés olympiques Suk Hee Shim et Kim Alang de la Corée du Sud, en plus de Kexin Fan, Jingnan Shi, Tianyu Han et Dajing Wu de la Chine, qui en mettront également plein les yeux.

L’admission est gratuite pour les rondes de qualification présentées le vendredi 30 octobre. Celles-ci se dérouleront de 9 h 45 à 17 h 45.

Les billets ainsi que l’horaire complet pour les journées du samedi 31 octobre et du dimanche 1er novembre, alors que les rondes finales débuteront à 13 h, sont disponibles au http://www.coupedumondemtl.ca/billets/.

« Encore une fois cette année, Montréal est fière d’accueillir les meilleurs patineurs de vitesse au monde ainsi que les vedettes canadiennes et les médaillés olympiques pour un spectacle qui comblera les amateurs de vitesse et de sensations fortes », a déclaré le président du comité organisateur, Claude Fauteux.

« Pour Montréal, ce sera également l’opportunité de montrer à nouveau au monde les capacités d’accueil exceptionnelles de notre comité organisateur, comme on a pu notamment le voir aux Championnats du monde de 2014 et aux nombreuses Coupes du monde présentées à Montréal jusqu’ici, et comme ils auront l’occasion de le vivre à nouveau en 2018, quelques semaines après les Jeux olympiques, pour la présentation des Championnats du monde 2018. »

Desjardins : partenaire corporatif
Le président du comité organisateur en a également profité pour remercier les nombreux partenaires et commanditaires de l’événement, et plus particulièrement le Mouvement Desjardins qui a contribué financièrement à raison d’un montant de 25 000 $ pour la présentation de cet événement en 2015.

« C’est un grand plaisir pour Desjardins de présenter la Coupe du monde de patinage de vitesse sur courte piste et de contribuer ainsi à mettre en valeur l’activité sportive, tout en faisant rayonner mondialement Montréal et son accueil chaleureux. En tant que coopérative bien ancrée dans notre milieu, il nous apparaît important de contribuer au mieux-être de nos membres et au développement de la collectivité », souligne M. Martin Brunelle, vice-président principal Grand Montréal au Mouvement Desjardins.

L’événement s’est également allié avec deux partenaires philanthropiques cette année, soit la Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l’AVC (FMC) ainsi que la Fondation Rêves d’enfants. Ces deux organismes ont aidé à promouvoir l’événement et seront sur place, respectivement le samedi 31 octobre et le dimanche1er novembre, afin de recueillir des dons.

  1. Fauteux a également tenu à remercier plusieurs partenaires gouvernementaux, incluant le Gouvernement du Canada, le Gouvernement du Québec, la Ville de Montréal et Tourisme Montréal.

« Tourisme Montréal estime que le secteur sportif recèle un potentiel de développement touristique considérable pour Montréal et c’est pourquoi nous y consacrons stratégiquement des ressources en vue d’obtenir des résultats concrets. Grande ville sportive, Montréal possède les atouts pour accueillir tous les types d’événements sportifs : des installations modernes, des entraîneurs compétents et des athlètes de haut niveau. Nous sommes donc heureux d’accueillir la première Coupe du monde de l’ISU dans la métropole. Bonne chance aux athlètes », affirme Yves Lalumière, président-directeur général de Tourisme Montréal.

Le samedi 31 octobre : recevez des bonbons de Charles Hamelin et Marianne St-Gelais
À la fin de la journée des compétitions présentées le samedi 31 octobre, jour de l’Halloween, les membres de l’équipe canadienne rencontreront les partisans pour une séance d’autographes.

De plus, au cours de celle-ci, Charles Hamelin et Marianne St-Gelais remettront des bonbons aux 250 premières personnes, en priorité aux enfants et aux personnes costumées.

Le comité organisateur invite donc tous les gens à venir costumés en cette journée de l’Halloween du samedi 31 octobre.

Présentés à CBC et à Radio-Canada
Les compétitions seront présentées sur les ondes de CBC et sur son site Internet au cbcsports.ca, télédiffuseur officiel de l’événement, le samedi 31 octobre de 17 h à 18 h (heure de l’Est) pour les finales féminines et masculines du 1000m et du 1500m.

Le lendemain, CBC présentera les finales du 500m et du 1000m féminin et masculin, de 15 h à 16 h.

Les partisans francophones pourront également suivre les compétitions dans leur langue alors que l’événement sera webdiffusé sur le site Internet de radio-canada.ca de 13 h à 17 h les deux jours.

Au sujet de la Coupe du monde sur courte piste de l’ISU 2015 à Montréal
La Coupe du monde de patinage de vitesse sur courte piste 2015 de l’ISU, présentée du 30 octobre au 1er novembre à l’aréna Maurice-Richard de Montréal, regroupera les meilleurs patineurs de vitesse sur courte piste au monde pour la première étape de la saison comptant un total de six Coupes du monde.

Le comité organisateur de la Coupe du monde de patinage de vitesse sur courte piste 2015 de l’ISU à Montréal désire remercier ses partenaires et commanditaires :

Partenaires corporatifs : Mouvement Desjardins, Hôtel Universel et Li-Ning
Partenaires gouvernementaux : Gouvernement du Canada, Gouvernement du Québec, Ville de Montréal, Tourisme Montréal et Parc olympique
Partenaires sportifs : ISU, Fédération de patinage de vitesse du Québec et Patinage de vitesse Canada
Partenaires philanthropiques : Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l’AVC (FMC) et Fondation Rêves d’enfants
Partenaires médias : 91.9 Sport et 24 Heures

Des détails supplémentaires sont disponibles sur le site Internet de l’événement au http://www.coupedumondemtl.ca/.

 

– 30 –

 

Pour information :

Patrick Godbout

Responsable des communications et des relations avec les médias

Patinage de vitesse Canada

Courriel : pgodbout@speedskating.ca

Téléphone : 514 213-9897

Site Internet : www.speedskating.ca

Facebook : www.facebook.com/SSC.PVC

Twitter : www.twitter.com/SSC_PVC


L’équipe canadienne vise 10 médailles individuelles à la première Coupe du monde de patinage de vitesse sur courte piste de l’ISU de la saison présentée à Montréal

teamcanada

Les membres de l’équipe canadienne de patinage de vitesse sur courte piste se sont donnés comme mission de remporter 10 médailles individuelles à la Coupe du monde inaugurale de la saison 2015-2016 présentée à la maison, à l’aréna Maurice-Richard de Montréal, du 30 octobre au 1er novembre.

Plus de détails >


Venez rencontrer les membres de l’équipe canadienne

bannerv2_fra

Les membres de l’équipe canadienne de patinage de vitesse sur courte piste invitent la population à venir les rencontrer lors d’une conférence de presse suivie d’une séance de signatures d’autographes le mercredi 28 octobre de 11 h 30 à 13 h à la Grande-Place du complexe Desjardins (150, rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest), partenaire de l’événement.

Plus de détails >


Cinq médaillés olympiques mèneront l’équipe canadienne pour les Coupes du monde sur courte piste de l’ISU à Montréal et Toronto

Patinage de vitesse Canada a présenté les athlètes qui représenteront le pays lors des deux premières Coupes du monde sur courte piste de l’ISU qui lanceront la saison 2015-2016 et qui seront disputées à Montréal, du 30 octobre au 1er novembre, puis à Toronto, du 6 au 8 novembre.

Rencontrez l’équipe >


Les billets maintenant disponibles

tickets

Procurez-vous dès maintenant vos billets pour la Coupe du monde qui aura lieu du 30 octobre au 1er novembre à l’aréna Maurice-Richard de Montréal.

Achetez-les maintenant >


BÉNÉVOLES RECHERCHÉS

volunteers_247

Dans deux mois, Montréal vivra au rythme de la première Coupe du monde sur courte piste de la saison, du 30 octobre au 1er novembre, à l’aréna Maurice-Richard de Montréal.

Soyez aux premières loges en devenant bénévole pour l’événement!

Inscrivez-vous maintenant >


L’aréna Maurice-Richard de Montréal accueillera la première Coupe du monde sur courte piste de l’ISU de la saison, du 30 octobre au 1er novembre

WC_Montreal

Montréal ouvrira la saison 2015-2016 des Coupes du monde sur courte piste de l’ISU en présentant la première épreuve, du 30 octobre au 1er novembre, à l’aréna Maurice-Richard.

Plus de détails >